Navy Cross Recipients



The Navy Cross is the second highest-ranking military decoration awarded a United States Armed Forces Sailor or Marine can receive who have distinguished themselves for extraordinary heroism in combat with an armed enemy force, second only to the Medal of Honor.

Established in 1919, the Navy Cross is bestowed by the Secretary of the Navy and may also be awarded to members of the other armed services, and to foreign military personnel while serving with the U.S. Naval Service.

The recipients must have distinguished themselves at the risk of their own life above and beyond the call of duty in action against an enemy of the United States who distinguishes themselves in action by extraordinary heroism not justifying an award of the Medal of Honor.

The action must take place under one of three circumstances:

    1. In combat action while engaged against an enemy of the United States; or,
    2. In combat action while engaged in military operations involving conflict with an opposing foreign force; or,
    3. In combat action while serving with friendly foreign forces, who are engaged in armed conflict in which the United States is not a belligerent party.

The act(s) to be commended must be performed in the presence of great danger, or at great personal risk, and must be performed in such a manner as to render the individual’s action(s) highly conspicuous among others of equal grade, rate, experience, or position of responsibility. An accumulation of minor acts of heroism does not justify an award of the Navy Cross.

Due to the nature of this medal, about fifty percent of its recipients are presented posthumously.


We honor our Hotel 2/5 Navy Cross Medal recipients:

Captain George R. Christmas

Corporal Jimmy E. Floren